Back to the Garage (The Rock Band Chronicles)

Hi homies. Once again, your intrepid bass player is back in the garage playing with himself. (OMG! Get those minds out of the gutter!)

After two very enjoyable rehearsals with some lovely and talented musicians, I could see differences in direction regarding song choice, band line-up and other factors that would invariably lead to conflicts down the road. No one, including me, was right or wrong. It’s all a matter of preference and choice. I knew what I was trying to do with Dirty Garage would be challenging, if not impossible; a quartet of old fogies, feeling like the 1960’s Rolling Stones, playing an eclectic mix of garage/Brit Invasion/hard/pop rock, while somehow all buying into a singular vision.  Splitting the atom was easier.

So where does that leave me? I am considering two paths, each one a polar opposite or the other. One is to continue the pursuit of Dirty Garage, only this time more purely with a narrower song-list that is less eclectic. The second is to organically grow a band by aligning with like-minded top-tier musicians who would each choose ten songs to contribute to a totally eclectic, democratic song-list. One thing is certain. If I do a band, I will absolutely not play the same old tired songs, nor will I have any preconception of or dependence on audience acceptance. No, it’s not that I don’t want to be successful; it’s that I continue to believe “if we build it, they will come”. I intend to play like I did forty years ago; for the love of the music, the instrument and the comradery.

In the meantime, to prevent my fingers from rusting, I’ll be auditioning with an established band or two. The future is like a box of chocolates… Peace, love, dove homies.

Leave a Reply

